PDA

View Full Version : General talk Men's watches

rage_face
18-04-2015, 10:54 AM
hey all,

I've been wearing a $100 watch since I started work when I was junior many many years ago, and have always been happy with it, even till this day. I used to wear a very crappy watch before this, when I was a student, so buying a $100 watch when I first started work was a very big deal for me. I enjoy the look and simplicity of the watch, and it holds a lot of sentimental value.

HOWEVER, lately I have started thinking that a lot of girls judge me based on this, thinking that I must be a poor bastard. Now, I know this may be silly, because as the saying goes, "we buy things we don't want, with money we don't have, to impress people we don't like". I'm very aware of this. And some will also say that if girls judge us by material goods then they are not worth our time. But my reality recently is that most girls will judge us men based on how much money we have. I call bullshit if anyone says otherwise.

So anyway, back to my point. I am looking to get another watch, for around the $1000 mark, maybe even $2000 if I really like the look of it. I know nothing about watches, so am here to seek recommendations. What are some decent watches for around those prices? I don't know anything about brands, although obviously Rolex, Omega and Tag seem to be the most prestige. I was looking at DJ's and Myer and saw a brand called Emporio Armani, Hugo Boss, Armani Exchange - what do people think of those brands?

I am just after a very simple design. Don't want ones with a lot of buttons, or a lot of mini-clocks inside the main watch. All I need is it to tell the damn time.

If you are willing to say, what watch are you wearing now?

wilisno
18-04-2015, 11:12 AM
hey all,